Finding Direction And A Future In The Green World

Hi all!

I haven’t been active on here in a while, and that’s due to me trying to figure out where this blog is going and the direction I want to take it. I’ve been planting new things and figuring out how to balance everything in my life. Also, I’ve been debating if this idea and the direction I want to go is something that I’m qualified for. But, I have a few things figured out (not all) and here’s what I know so far. First, I want to make this more than a blog, I want to make it a company. A place that will help others learn how to live green and to be more eco-friendly in their everyday lives. To do this, I searched around for what kind of things were lacking in the ‘green living’ world and I found that the green world is pretty much saturated with everything it needs. There’s even an eco-friendly, solar-powered grill, for goodness sakes. I mean, what else do we need, right? There are so many products out there already to help people live an eco-friendly life and so many website, bloggers and influencers that help others learn about the green lifestyle and natural/organic living.

Anyways, so there I was, racking my brain for what else I could do. I thought about it for a few days…and then I went out. And realized something. Once I leave my house, there are very few places I can go to truly continue my green lifestyle. There are only a handful of restaurants around my city that serve natural/organic/sustainable dishes. I know of only one hotel in my area that is sort of eco-friendly. I don’t think I’ve seen any eco-friendly salons. Power stations for electric cars? Nope. Solar chargers in coffee shops? Uh-uh. Clothing shops with eco-friendly pieces? Yeah, right. Eco home design stores? Malls? Recycle bins? Sigh. Yeah, not even that. Well, in some places, but definitely not enough.

All these things make it very difficult to live life as I would like to. It forces one to compromise or really go out of your way to be eco-friendly. Or to just stay in my house all the time. Yeah, no. I need to get out sometime, you know! And this is when the idea came to me — this is what the green world is missing! Not more products, but more services.

You see, while a lot of companies have embraced the green movement and have created ‘green’ products, not so many companies (even of those that make green products) have embraced the green life in full. They don’t recycle, compost, save water, use renewable energy, and they don’t promote those activities in their surrounding communities. So I have finally found the direction that I want to take this (tiny) company of mine. Towards consulting and community involvement and creating green services for people.

sam-headland-284057

Within the next few weeks, you guys will see a lot of changes taking place on this site. It will become more business and less personal blog, but not to worry. I will still be here, writing away, so all the wonderful tips and tricks about living green are going to continue on the blog. Also, a few guest posts are on the way to the blog and I will be guest posting myself (so be on the lookout!). There will be more posts about living the ‘green life’ outside the home though — posts like what to watch out for at a salon, how to live green on vacation and what companies or businesses are using practices in line with the green movement.

I hope to see you guys in the coming weeks and I will, of course, be awaiting your feedback and comments on the changes. Until then, I’m going back to work. There are so many things to do!

See you guys soon,
Oana

Leave a Reply

